Welcome to a country where the visitor does not have to search for tradition, but finds it at every turn.

Considered a "cosmic synthesis of the world," Bolivia is one of the eight countries with the widest biodiversity on the planet. High plateaus, Amazon jungle, towering snow-clad peaks, inter-Andean valleys, cities that have been declared a World Cultural Heritage Site bring the visitor face-to-face with intercomparable beauty and sharp contrasts, all imbued with the charming hospitality of the Bolivian people.

OFFICIAL NAME: Republic of Bolivia

POPULATION AND AREA : Bolivia has a population of roughly 8 million 894 thousand inhabitants who occupy an area of 1 098 581km2.

FORM OF GOVERNMENT: A representative democracy in which the President is elected for a five-year term by universal vote.

RELIGION: Although Bolivia enjoys freedom of worship, most of the people are Roman Catholic.

TIME: Bolivia's official time is Universal Time or Greenwich Mean Time minus 4 hours (GMT- 4).

CURRENCY: Bolivia's monetary unit is the boliviano. Bills of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 bolivianos and coins of 0.10, 0.20, 0.50, 1, 2 and 5 bolivianos are in circulation.

GEOGRAPHIC LOCATION AND BORDERS: Bolivia is located in the center of South America and is bordered by Brazil (north and east), Paraguay (southeast), Argentina (south), Chile (southwest and west) and Peru (west).

LANGUAGES: The people speak Spanish and, depending upon the region in question, also Aymara, Quechua or Guaraní, as well as several native languages.

CAPITAL : Sucre is the country's constitutional capital, while La Paz is the administrative capital, seat of the government.

Most important cities: Santa Cruz, La Paz, Cochabamba, Tarija, Sucre, Potosí, Oruro, Cobija and Trinidad, all of which are department capitals.


contact and photos